Online reading groups for term 1

I’ve been doing some discussing and looking at a few options based on interest, and I’m pleased to announce at this stage that I’ll be starting off 3 online reading groups/classes to start later in January. In a separate post I’ll write more about in-person opportunities in Sydney this year.

Online

For each class I give my local time (AEDT), UTC, a US Eastern, and a US Pacific.

NT Reading 1:

This class will meet to read portions of Luke’s Gospel, and discuss the literary, historical, and theological features of the text.

Start date: 2nd Feb

Class time: AEDT: Mon, 21:00, UTC 10:00, Eastern 05:00, Pacific 02:00

This class slot is geared towards people in the Asia/Australia time zones.

NT Reading 2:

This class will meet to read Paul’s letter to the Ephesians, and discuss the literary, historical, and theological features of the text.

Start date: 27th Jan (Aus) / 26th Jan (US)

Class time: AEDT: Tue, 13:10, UTC 02:10, Monday Eastern 21:10, Pacific 18:10

Patristic Greek 1:

This class will meet to read Gregory of Nyssa’s Ad Ablabium.

Start date: 27th Jan (Aus) / 26th Jan (US)

Class time: AEDT: Tue, 14:20, UTC 03:20, Monday Eastern 22:20, Pacific 19:20

 

All classes run for an hour and will go for a ten-week block, at which point we’ll consider whether to continue/reschedule/etc..

The classes will be run over Google Hangouts. You will need a webcam and a headset in order to participate. If you do not have a headset, I strongly encourage you to purchase even a relatively cheap one. It is no fun for anyone to be on a conference call with someone who is using their computer speakers and built-in microphone.

I am still open to running some introductory conversational Greek or Latin, but I have not had much interest in this yet.

How to Enrol

Please check the information on the “Learn Greek and Latin” page for payment and enrolment details.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: